And…we’re back.

It’s been almost 7 months since my last post. I won’t bother with excuses. Suffice to say, I’ve been busy sweating and toiling trying to realize some of the philosophies I only pontificated about last year. This post is less of a triumphant return to blogging and more of a casual greeting to friends I haven’t hung with in a while.

So, hello.

In the past several months, my life has been in an almost constant state of flux. I feel like I’m being melted down and remade into a better me. The transformation is still happening and I’m looking forward to eventually establishing a New Normal. I’ve started and stopped two significantly stressful jobs (at non-profits), and now I’m in Tulsa, Oklahoma training to be a urban teacher for Teach for America. Essentially, it’s a boot camp for guerrilla educators. My mind is a barely-zippable, overpacked suitcase, crammed full of new facts and statistics, voodoo pedagogy, names of new acquaintances and authors whose writings I should ingest sooner than later.

People often ask, “How is it there in Tulsa.?” They mean well. It’s difficult to answer with equal parts excitement for a new chapter in life and unrivaled homesickness. I usually answer, ‘It’s OK,’ (silently congratulating myself for making a clever pun). In truth, I am thrilled to be actualizing a plan that has been over a year in the works. I am willing to put myself through the unpaid rigor and strain of 5am wake-ups and midnight bedtimes for weeks straight for the benefit of children here in Tulsa. I’m tolerate of the massive info-dumps that are ever-present when emails and soft copies would kill less trees and less hours. I’m more or less a willing participant in the rounds and rounds of ‘reflection sessions’ that TFA seems to revel in when most of us prefer to process internally and alone.

I sure do miss home. It’s been about a month since I’ve seen my home and those I care for most. Every day that passes I feel myself becoming more calloused and steeled from the emotions of home-sickness. It’s a survival instinct, I presume. No matter the ‘fun’ that might occur here, it’s still occurring 243 miles from the people and places that inspire me and replenish my energies. This is why I normally prefer short vacations or ‘stay-cations.’ I love being home.

The good news is: every hour that passes I’m closer to completing this summer program and returning to Kansas City.

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

