“Childish Things”

When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I sold my childish things on eBay. 1 Corinthians 13:11 (GBV)

What do Batman and Ninja Turtle Leonardo have in common? Plenty. Both were huge fixtures of my childhood, and both are represented in the toys and pop culture paraphernalia that I’m selling on eBay. I’m getting a jump on spring cleaning and a lot of that involves getting rid of some of the clutter in my apartment.

While part of me is sad to sell off some of my play things, the grown-up in me is loving the added income. It feels good to purge the things that are no longer valuable to me. No offense to geeks (I’m a recovering geek myself), but they pay big bucks for these ‘Saturday morning artifacts’. The first item I sold was a limited edition, official prop of the BatSignal (the light that summons Batman to suit up and fight crime). It was a gift (I know). It simply had to go. As much as I want to pretend that I’m a billionaire bachelor-playboy who is secretly a masked crime fighter, keeping things like that around will just make me a starving bachelor-boy, secretly clinging onto yesteryear.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

