Take Another Step

“What saves a man is to take a step. Then another step.” C.S. Lewis

I am becoming increasingly desperate for my life to be more than it is presently. I worked a lot over the weekend — entirely too much to call it a weekend in the traditional sense– and I feel like something is changing deep down. There is a tension, a pulling that is occurring. I need more from life, and I’m overdue to get off of this hamster wheel of overworking and not resting. This divine discontent with the status quo combined with an ironclad hope in my future is what keeps me charging forward.

I’ve read so many inspirational, empowering things recently (from scripture, or other worthwhile sources) and my spiritual belly is full. With all due respect to the authors and thought leaders that I love, at some point words need to translate into action. I can’t just hear from God. I have to do what He asks of me.  Theologian Klaus Bockmuehl said, “We are not responsible for success, but we remain responsible for obedience.” What God creates with our obedience is His concern not ours. I need my optimism to gain traction. My ideas and thought life need to grow legs.

My friends and I often refer to our projects/callings/purposes/ideas for self-actualization as our “dreams.” Does that make our day jobs and ordinary lives nightmares? I’m unsure. I’ve heard it said that the difference between a goal and a dream is a plan. Although I don’t have a plan pieced together yet, my first step TODAY is to carve out some time to pray, get centered and start to sketch out a plan. I just need to take a step.

Maybe you’ve been where I am and can offer some advice. Maybe you’re exactly in the same proverbial boat. I’d love to hear from you.

What step will you take today?

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

