Synergy : Part One

I’ve just finished a three-week stint leading group creativity sessions at the Synergy House Youth Resiliency Center. Over the next couple of weeks, I’ll be sharing some photos and thoughts about my experience there. I’ve done these types of sessions before, but never in a space so ideal for creativity and fun. The room was full of paintings, sculptures, and various pieces of self-expression that instantly inspired me. The kids range in age from 12-18 and, since the Center is an open-to-the-public community center during the day, others from the neighboring area joined us in our discussions and activities.

For the first session, we talked about personal mantras. We tried to find short phrases (originals, or from a song, poem, or scripture) that inspired us when life gets discouraging. Although skill levels are all over the place, I’m always impressed by the depth and creativity of these young people.

Here are some of my favorites:

           

One thought on “Synergy : Part One

  1. […] about Synergy’s YRC, click here. To view my posts about my first and second visits, click here or […]

Leave a Reply

